Nominees Announced for the 2011 African American Literary Awards Show

Here are the nominees for the 7th Annual African American Literary Awards Show. Voting starts Friday, July 29, 2011, ending September 2. Winners will be announced at the live show on September, 22, 2011


Dorothy by LaToya S. Watkins
He Was My Man First – Courtney Parker & Nancey Flowers
No One in the World: A Novel – E. Lynn Harris & RM Johnson
Mama Ruby – Mary Monroe
Money Can’t Buy Love – Connie Briscoe

Self Help

How To Get Out Of Your Own Way – Tyrese Gibson
The Strawberry Letter: Real Talk, Real Advice, Because Bitterness Isn’t Sexy – Shirley Strawberry
Why Do I Have To Think Like A Man?: How To Think Like A Lady And Still Get The Man – Shanae Hall & Rhonda Frost
Priceless Inspirations – Antonia Carter
A Belle in Brooklyn: The Go-to Girl for Advice on Living Your Best Single Life – Demetria Lucas


Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption-from South Central to Hollywood – Ice T
The Big Fight: My Life In and Out of the Ring – Sugar Ray Leonard
Flavor Flav: The Icon The Memoir – Flavor Flav
Love Brought Me Back: A Journey of Loss and Gain – Natalie Cole
Transparent – Don Lemon

Christian Fiction

An Inconvenient Friend by Rhonda McKnight
Right Package, Wrong Baggage by Wanda B. Campbell
The Deal, The Dance & The Devil – Victoria Christopher Murray
Crowning Glory – Pat Simmons
Who Said It Would Be Easy?: A Story of Faith (Zane Presents) – Cheryl Faye


Strawberries, Stilettos, and Steam – Imani True & Dreama Skye
Southern Comfort” by Cynnamon Foster and Nina Foxx
Sixty-Nine – Pynk
Smooth Operator – Risque
Nasty – Dr. XYZ

Street Fiction

Justify My Thug – Wahida Clark
My Kinda Girl by Michael McGrew
The Prada Plan 2 – Ashley Antoinette
Welfare Wifeys: A Hood Rat Novel – K’wan
Memoirs Of An Accidental Hustler – JM Benjamin

Non Fiction

I Shall Not Die: Living A Psalm 118:17 Existence – Kendra Norman Bellamy
Fail Up: 20 Lessons on Building Success from Failure – Tavis Smiley
Black Woman Redefined: Dispelling Myths and Discovering Fulfillment in the Age of Michelle Obama – Sophia Nelson
Peace from Broken Pieces – Iyanla Vanzant
Becoming a Woman of Destiny: Turning Life’s Trials into Triumphs! – Dr. Suzan Johnson Cook


Giving Up The Ghost by Stacy-Deanne
Ask Nicely and I Might by Lorraine Elzia
The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey – Walter Mosley
Price Of Fame – Amaleka McCall
Surrender the Dark – L.A. Banks

Children/Young Adult

Getting Played by Celeste O. Norfleet
Drama Queens –ReShonda Tate Billingsley
Giant Steps To Change The World – Spike Lee & Tonya Lewis Lee
Sugar Plum Ballerinas: Terrible Terrel – Whoopi Goldberg
Teen Girls Need L.O.V.E. by S.Dodson


Inseparable – Brenda Jackson
Sweet Persuasions– Rochelle Alers
Unexpected Interruptions – Trice Hickman
Twice The Temptation – Francis Ray
The Proposal – Brenda Jackson

Short stories/Anthologies

A Woman’s Revenge by Tiffany L. Warren, Sherri Lewis and Rhonda McKnight
Home Again: Stories of Restored Relationships by Wanda B. Campbell, Dijorn Moss, Tyora Moody and Trinea Moss
Between the Sheets – Tamika Newhouse, NiCola Mitchell and Anna Black

Magazines ( Non-Literary)

Black Enterprise

Magazines ( Literary)

Mosaic Books
Booking Matters
African Voices
Black Literature Magazine

Humorist Award of the Year (Stand-up Comics)

Kevin Hart
Sherri Shepherd
Chris Spencer
Tony Rock
Rickey Smiley

Self Published Author of the Year

The Ultimate Question: Will Love Ever Know Me – Tamika Newhouse
Con Test: Double Life – Rahiem Brooks
Twisted – Ni’cola
Devour, One Man’s Tale of Love, Intimacy, and Ecstasy – D.A. Williams

Breakout Author of the Year

Tour Secrets – Winkk
The Putting Away – Sharel E. Gordon-Love
Open Your Eyes – Schelle Halloway
Shady – Dell Banks
Girl, Get Your Mind Right – Tionna Smalls

Publishing House of the Year

St. Martin’s Press
Kimani Press
Grand Central Publishing
Simon & Schuster

Independent Publisher of the Year

Peace In The Storm
A New Quality Publishing
Delphine Publications
NCM Publishing
Black Dawn Books

Author of the Year-Male

J.M. Benjamin – Memoirs Of An Accidental Hustler
Walter Mosley – The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey
E. Lynn Harris & RM Johnson – No One In The World
Carl Weber – Choir Director
K’wan – Welfare Wifeys

Author of the Year – Female

Victoria Christopher Murray (The Deal, The Dance & The Devil)
Kimberla Lawson Roby – Love, Honor and Betray
Pat G’Orge Walker – Don’t Blame The Devil
Nancey Flowers & Courtney Parker – He Was My Man First
Sophia Nelson – Redefining The Black Woman

Bookclub of the Year

Black Expressions
African American Literary Book Club (AALBC)
Go On Girl Bookclub

Television Writer of the Year

Tyler Perry – House Of Payne
Ali LeRoi – Are We There Yet
Mara Brock Akil – The Game
Stacy A. Littlejohn- Single Ladies
Shonda Rhimes – The Practice

Screenwriter of the Year

Tracey E. Edmonds – Jumping The Broom
Salim Akil – Jumping The Broom
Tyler Perry – For Colored Girls
Tyler Perry – Madea’s Big Happy Family

Comic Strip

Aarron McGruder – Boondocks
Jerry Craft – Mama’s Boyz
Ray Billingsley – Curtis
Keith Knight – The K Chronicles
Robb Armstrong –Jumpstart

Comedy Author

Girl, Get Your Mind Right – Tionna Smalls
Is It Just Me?: Or is it nuts out there? – Whoopi Goldberg
Don’t Blame The Devil – Pat G’orge Walker

Leave a Reply